Mummascribbles meets…Lylia Rose

Every week I feature an interview with a blogger, so that whether you know of them or not, you can get to know them a little better! This week we meet Victoria from Lylia Rose. Thanks so much for taking part Victoria 🙂

Tell me a little bit about yourself and your family

My name is Victoria Sully, wife to Ben and mum to Bella age 5 and Reuben age 3. We live in Gloucestershire, South West England, in our first owned home together which we moved into four years ago. We’ve been busily renovating and doing it up ever since. Ben is an IT manager at Superdry head office, which is where we met, and I am now a full time blogger. Bella is in year one and Reuben is at two different preschools Monday to Friday. We have a busy and lively family household!

What do you like doing to be you, when you are not parenting, working (if you do), or blogging?

I love to go to the gym, it’s my escapism. One hour with my headphones in with no children, work or housework, just to escape into my own head and thoughts. Though I may often be thinking of work as blogging is my obsession and career! I also love long walks in the countryside with a friend. I’d love to say travelling, but at the moment that is with the kids in tow! I don’t have much time to myself now I’m a parent and if we ever have a night off we’ll usually pop to a restaurant for a meal kid-free. I love healthy living so it’s a great chance for me and my husband to explore vegan or plant based restaurants when we don’t have the kids for a day or evening.

What is your biggest achievement to date?

Ooh a few things. Having my children and getting through the pregnancies and births of which I hated every moment! Also setting up my own business and managing to earn a full time living by myself. Buying my first home seemed quite an achievement too. I was always terrible with money and in awful debt in my late teens to mid twenties, so buying a house isn’t something I ever thought was possible for me. Luckily I’m much better with money nowadays.

From your own experiences, what do you find the hardest part of parenting and what is the easiest/most rewarding part?

The hardest part is the repetitiveness. The constant asking the same things and saying the same things over and over, every single day. It’s tiring. The same routine and the same school runs every day. I can find it quite mundane and I want some more excitement in my life sometimes. I guess it’s that trapping feeling that we have to be grounded and I can’t just go travelling or move to a new town on a whim as I now have huge responsibilities. Also the kids bickering and arguing! It drives me insane daily! But as much as there are negatives, there is nothing more rewarding than having my own family and having two little people who call me mum! The easiest part is probably loving my children and wanting to keep them healthy and safe. Enjoying their company and seeing them grow and develop is so rewarding.

Parenting in itself is no mean feat; how do you juggle everything you need to in order to get everything done on a daily basis?

I’m still working on it! It’s a challenge. Luckily we have just increased Reuben’s childcare from 20 hours a week to 30. This means I can now have some sort of routine for my full time work whilst they are in childcare and at school. Before I was having to work lots with Reuben here and it was sometimes impossible and highly stressful. I now have set hours to work and can concentrate on the children, cooking or housework when I’m not working. We get up quite early at around 6.30am which gives me time to prepare lunchboxes, get ready myself, get both the kids ready and pack their bags, as well as tidy and clean the kitchen and do some chores. Then it’s work for me whilst they are at school and nursery. After school the children will usually play, which is much easier in the summer when they can go outdoors to play in the garden (less bickering), whilst I unpack bags and lunchboxes and prepare our dinner. We have a home cooked dinner every evening so I’m usually in the kitchen for at least one hour cooking and cleaning. After dinner it’s more tidying up, homework or play and then bathtimes, bed and stories. I sometimes struggle in cleaning the rest of the house as I spend nearly all my time in the kitchen before and after school! I keep the house quite minimal to keep it tidy and easier to manage. I’ll try to multitask some things such as cleaning the bathroom whilst they are in the bath!

Why did you decide to start blogging?

Originally, five years ago, it was to have more content on my fashion accessories website. Then I loved blogging and started to turn it into a lifestyle blog rather than a business blog. It gradually took over and now it’s my job and my passion. I love to write and always wonder if I hadn’t had my online shop perhaps I’d have found myself blogging one day anyway!

Tell me a bit about your blog?

My blog www.lyliarose.com is a UK lifestyle blog that covers a variety of topics I am passionate about, but mainly healthy living, family lifestyle and money topics such as freelancing, blogging as a career, ways to make money from home and saving money. I also have a second blog I started in January this year at www.healthyvix.com where I blog all things healthy! Healthy living is my biggest passion so I wanted a blog that focussed solely on this, plus I wanted to have a go at using WordPress as my main blog Lylia Rose is technically meant to be an ecommerce store so the blog feature is very basic!

What do you want your blog to achieve and where do you hope to see it go as it grows?

I guess I’ve already achieved what I never knew was possible and that is to turn it into my main source of income. I hope this will continue for a very long time. I also hope I can monetize my new Healthy Vix blog one day, but it’s very early days there at the moment.

What advice would you give someone who is thinking about starting a blog?

Go for it! if you love writing then blogging is the perfect outlet. It doesn’t have to be perfect right away so just get started and work on perfecting the design and your writing style later. I still constantly tweak my website, even after five years, and my writing style develops as I grow and develop and even change as a person.

If you could have dinner with three people (dead or alive), who would it be and why

It would have to be family who have died. My cousin Hannah who died when we were 16, my Gran and my Great Gran.

Tell me three random facts about you

1) I have a tiny little finger! It’s meant to go up to the second knuckle on your ring finger, but mine just goes over the first knuckle! Bella’s is now as long as mine!

2) I have four pet chickens in our garden.

3) I’ve always lived in Gloucestershire, but I’m keen to move away and live somewhere else to experience something different.

Along with her blogs www.lyliarose.com and www.healthyvix.com, you can also find Victoria over on Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest.

 

 

Share this post on

3 Comments

  1. Hannah | MakeDo&Push
    June 12, 2018 / 9:05 pm

    I would love to own chickens! We keep talking about getting some 🙂 Great interview xx

  2. June 13, 2018 / 9:14 am

    This is such an interesting read. I will be checking out both blogs! I would love to be able to keep chickens

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: