KidloLand App – review and giveaway!

There is no doubt that our children are living in a very different era to the one that we did. Where I was once still typing on a typewriter, there is now the ablity to talk and have it typed for you. Where we used to get excited about the updated Snake game on the old Nokia’s (remember them?!), nowadays you can play full on games with awesome graphics, take amazing photos and keep a check on all your spreadsheets. The world has changed and who knows what the next generation will have in years to come.

Along with the awesomeness of this major upgrade in technology, there is always the advice that we shouldn’t let our children on such equipment for long periods of time, if at all. Personally I think that as long as they aren’t glued to it, it really doesn’t hurt and I sure let Zach use the iPad. I think it’s about allowing them these things in small doses and letting them know where the limits are. It’s also about having the right things for them to do and there were times when I was a bit worried that I was being a bad parent when he went to watch Dingle Dangle Scarecrow on YouTube and then ended up clicking on all of those nursery rhymes down the side that are simply just for watching and not at all interactive.

When the team behind the app KidloLand got in touch to see if I wanted to review for them, my initial thought was that I don’t really review apps because quite often they are hard to write a full post about. Instead of responding straight away and saying no, I had a little look on the Galaxy App store to see what it was all about. The reviews just on the app were enough to change my mind straight away and I quickly went back and said yes please!

KidloLand is an app that is aimed at young children up to the age of five that incorporates learning with fun and songs. It is a subscription service which you can pay for a whole year or on a monthly basis. Within the subscription you get every single download available plus any additions/updates as and when they are made available.

Upon downloading the whole app (each section gets downloaded on its own so you have to be a little bit patient), I had a little play before showing it to Zach. I was really impressed at the amount of stuff that is on there from many nursery rhymes to counting and phonics activities to a whole Christmas themed one! I just knew that he would absolutely love all aspects of this (and in particular the Christmas one of course!).

He was very excited when I told him he had a new app to play with and sat down one morning with it whilst I was getting ready for work – flicking through and finding different things to look at and seeing what he could do.

20160706_071249_28074055421_o

One of the things that he and I love about it is that it’s interactive. Yes there are a lot of nursery rhymes etc however if you touch the different parts of the screen, different things happen. For example, on one of them there is a train and when you press it, it starts moving and choo-chooing. On the song one potato, two potato, three potato four, there are many potatoes on screen doing different things and if you touch them, they do other stuff. There are a couple of potatoes playing badminton and when you touch one of them, the shuttlecock hits the other on the nose which Zach thinks is absolutely hilarious. He was literally in hysterics at that one!

20160706_071228_27537149143_o

Then there are the counting and phonics ones. It seems to be all about repetition which obviously can be a wee bit annoying for us parents but wonderful for our learning children. For him, it really helps him to hear the phonic and copy it and seeing the picture there representing the letter is a great aid.

20160714_095820_28019044250_o

There are also other activities that build cognitive skills and hand eye coordination, like the jigsaw puzzles and dot to dots. Zach was doing brilliantly with the dot to do the other day which was fab to see.

20160708_070827_28062201242_o

I love how much he likes this app because as a parent, I really do feel that it is a learning tool rather than being just something he is staring at. He asks for it in the morning whilst we are getting ready for work and has been playing with it on the car journey to my mum’s, but equally, it’s not like he’s become addicted as he will happily go a whole weekend without remembering that it’s there. That for me, is the perfect level of play allowance!

Probably the only annoying thing for me is having Jingle Bells playing at 8am on a July morning! But since he’s been talking about Santa for the last 6 months anywhere, it’s not really much different!

20160707_064842_28048554072_o

We absolutely love this app and whilst I don’t usually pay for them, mainly opting for the freebies, I would have absolutely no doubt about paying for this. Funnily enough we were talking about apps at work the other day and my manager said to me, we have this app at home called KidloLand and her little one loves it too!

***GIVEAWAY***

I have the opportunity for five of you lucky readers to win a 3 month subscription to the app! All you have to do is enter the Rafflecopter below. The app is available to download on IOSAndroid and from the Amazon Appstore and you can pretty much download it from anywhere so it doesn’t matter if you are in the UK or the States (or somewhere else!).

Good luck!!

T’s & C’s

  • Competition ends at 23.59 on 30th July
  • Prize to be arranged direct with KidloLand – prize winner’s contact details will be passed over to them
  • Responsibility of winners receiving subscription is with KidloLand, not Mummascribbles

a Rafflecopter giveaway

59 Comments

  1. July 19, 2016 / 6:48 am

    I still remember how exciting it was when mum bought…wait for it…an ELECTRIC typewriter. We were flash!!! OK; so now I'm showing my age, but I love that my kids aren't scared of technology the way that I am. They can whip around the iPad pretty effectively and I can only see this as a positive. It is the way forward (of course in reasonable, supervised doses). #TwinklyTuesday

    • July 19, 2016 / 2:57 pm

      Absolutely and yes, I am so with you on the electric typewriter! Those were exciting times!!! x

  2. July 19, 2016 / 7:12 am

    I love this! I know some people say we should be careful with new technologies but children need to live in their times. They will need it in the future jobs for sure. I won't take part in the competition as Baba is too young, but it was well tempted to try for me lol. #twinklytuesday

    • July 19, 2016 / 2:58 pm

      Haha I’m sure baba would love it anyway- full of brill nursery rhymes!! And yes, you are so right – they will need this technology as they get older so it’s important that they know how it works! x

  3. July 19, 2016 / 8:04 am

    Ah this is the post I have linked this week! Jinx! It's a cool app eh? I get so fed up with YouTube and random Spider-Man videos?! Zach looks like he is having fun 🙂 thanks for hosting.  Xx

    • July 19, 2016 / 2:59 pm

      Haha I saw you link it up! It is such a fab app that I really don’t mind him playing with. Love that there are no adverts too!!! x

  4. July 19, 2016 / 8:07 am

    Looks like a great app that Seb would have loved when he was younger. You've written a great review Lisa 🙂 xx #twinklytuesday 

    • July 19, 2016 / 3:00 pm

      Aww thank you! It’s always easy to write these things when they are genuinely good products! Zach loves it although I might accidently delete the Christmas songs section!xx

  5. July 19, 2016 / 8:20 am

    I still love snake! This looks really educational. I don't worry too much about my sons use of technology – I'm gonna need him tobe able to show me what to do 🙂 

    • July 19, 2016 / 3:01 pm

      Haha so true! I haven’t played snake in years but I bet it is just as addictive now as it was years ago! x

  6. July 19, 2016 / 8:46 am

    We've reviewed this too, it's a great app isn't it? My kids love it x #TwinklyTuesday

    • July 19, 2016 / 3:01 pm

      It’s brilliant- Zach loves it too and I love that it’s something I can happily let him play with! x

  7. July 19, 2016 / 8:47 am

    Great review. I've had this app on our iPad since before it became kidloland, back when it was just a few interactive nursery rhymes and my oldest boy loved it even then. We don't have a subscription to this new version so at the moment he only uses the free parts. They are good but I might consider the subscription too.

    • July 19, 2016 / 3:03 pm

      Ooo I didn’t know it even existed before it became kidloland! Sounds like it’s come a long way! Would defo consider the subscription – maybe you’ll win the comp and have a little taster!! x

  8. July 19, 2016 / 8:50 am

    This sounds like a great app, I love that it is sp interactive. My boy is just getting in to playing puzzles on the tablet but we only let him use it very ocassionally, I'm so worried about him getting addicted to the screen. This app sounds really educational and perfect for when you need to kids to be occupied for 10 minutes xx #TwinklyTuesday 

    • July 19, 2016 / 3:04 pm

      Definitely- it’s perfect for car journeys too. There’s been a lot less are we there yets!! I was worried about Zach getting addicted but so far so good! x

  9. July 19, 2016 / 10:29 am

    That looks like a really well thought out app. Still a bit old for L I think. He uses the iPad, I don't think it does any harm so long as it's not all day everyday. But if you need to get something done it's a great way to keep them quiet and occupied for a bit! #twinklytuesday

    • July 19, 2016 / 3:06 pm

      Definitely! Depending on how old L is, there are definitely plenty of sections on this which would be fine for youngers. The nursery rhymes in particular! x

  10. July 19, 2016 / 10:48 am

    Oscar loves learning via apps, probably due to the visual and kinesthetic nature of them. His autism means he needs several different inputs to learn things. But when he does?! This looks lovely and am definitely entering the giveaway #twinklytuesday

    • July 19, 2016 / 3:07 pm

      Oh good luck!! This sounds perfect for him – it’s such a fab app 🙂 xx

  11. July 19, 2016 / 11:06 am

    I let my son play with gadgets & tech. I think its needed as this is what its going to be when he grows up and I want him to be exposed to it. My son loves coding and he is young so he can only do so much. But of course I try to balance it with going out and playing. #twinklytuesday

    • July 19, 2016 / 3:08 pm

      As long as there’s a balance there, I really don’t see a problem! Love that your son is already into coding! Stuff I really wish we’d been taught more of! Who knew how much we’d need to know now!! x

  12. July 19, 2016 / 1:26 pm

    Wow such a good app indeed my daughter would love it #TwinklyTuesday 

    • July 19, 2016 / 3:09 pm

      It is fab! Good luck if you’ve entered the comp 🙂 x

  13. Rachel Craig
    July 19, 2016 / 3:17 pm

    No.

  14. July 19, 2016 / 4:16 pm

    We've yet to encounter this phase with our little ones but our buggy looks like it's geared up for this type of thing. Thanks for hosting #TwinklyTuesday I hope you don't mind the badge being in my sidebar instead of the post.

    • July 19, 2016 / 9:10 pm

      Of course not lovely!!! Your littlies will soon be onto this…time goes so fast!! xx

  15. Cheryl @ ReimerandRuby
    July 19, 2016 / 5:33 pm

    Sounds like a good app for the kids to learn… I'm the same, I don't want my kids to be too glued on the tablet especially if they're just watching youtube all the time, but having an interactive app like this, I think I would consider it as it's educational.  #TwinklyTuesday

    • July 19, 2016 / 9:12 pm

      That’s my thinking exactly. I hated him watching the toot on YouTube but couldn’t find anything that was like this or that didn’t crash or have loads of ads or pop ups that try and make you buy more!! xx

  16. laura stewart
    July 19, 2016 / 6:02 pm

    yes i do because tetchnolgy is always changing x

    • July 19, 2016 / 9:13 pm

      Absolutely – It’s definitely another moderation but there’s no point in banning it completely when it’s their future!! x

  17. July 19, 2016 / 7:03 pm

    I'd been looking for an app that would be good for my 4 year old over the summer holidays, and this definitely sounds like a good one!  He's just beginning to understand phonics so the repetition would be great (although I have a feeling that he too would spend a lot of time on the Christmas one which on a day as hot as this feels somewhat a long way away!!).  I shall definitely take a look at it for him. Thanks for a great review! #TwinklyTuesday 

    • July 19, 2016 / 9:15 pm

      This would be perfect! And you have the option to download different bits so you don’t have to add the Christmas one! I added it all because I was reviewing it but yes – jingle bells this morning was quite annoying!!! Thanks for the lovely comment:) z

  18. July 19, 2016 / 8:13 pm

    Looks like a fab app, I always rely on apps like this for travel, anything to make car journeys a little less painful!! We go away on sunday and have a VERY long drive south, will haev to look this one up! #TwinklyTuesday

    • July 19, 2016 / 9:17 pm

      Ooo definitely do! It is perfect for car journeys! I love that there are no adverts or silly pop ups asking you to buy more. It annoys me when suddenly Zach gets onto something else and it hadn’t happened with this! x

  19. Cat
    July 19, 2016 / 10:01 pm

    Children mimic and imitate, it's their nature, so they're bound to want to use modern technology. They pick it up so quickly too. It's great to find apps that you feel are valuable when it comes to 'screen time'. All in moderation 🙂 

    #TwinklyTuesday 

     

    • July 20, 2016 / 11:50 am

      Defiitely! And you are so right about the imitating! Zach has just started being a parrot and copying me…so annoying!!! xx

  20. July 19, 2016 / 10:03 pm

    Fab review.  We have this app too and my girls love it – I love just how much is included in it (and yes I feel your pain with Christmas songs in July – that's a favourite with Sophie too!)  #twinklytuesday

    • July 20, 2016 / 11:51 am

      To be fair- Zach hasn’t actually stopped talking about Santa since Christmas! It is such a great app though! x

  21. July 19, 2016 / 10:56 pm

    This is the second review I've come across of the app in the last few weeks and I have to say the reviews are pretty consistent – it sounds like a great app. Definitely one to take a look at more in the app store! Emily #TwinklyTuesday

    • July 20, 2016 / 11:52 am

      I would definitely recommend! There have indeed been lots of reviews of it and I haven’t seen a bad one yet. There are so many bad apps out there, it’s lovely to find a good one! x

  22. July 19, 2016 / 11:42 pm

    Oh, this sounds good. I am such a novice when it comes to apps (ashamed to say I don't REALLY know how they work. Really. I know. I am not proud of that. But this looks excellent so I'll have a proper look and MIGHT learn how to actually do something with it! #twinklytuesday

    • July 20, 2016 / 11:54 am

      Hahaha sometimes I think Zach is better on the Ipad than I am! Especially with this – I would never have thought about actually touching the nursery rhymes characters to make them do animated stuff!!! x

  23. July 20, 2016 / 7:20 am

    Hey!

    This looks like an ideal App to get the kids learning and not being on youtube…!

    I wish I had seen this before we invested in the totally crap Leapfrogpad thing. It is not 'ultimate' in anyway, despite its name!!

    This sounds great, I'll look into this one for sure. 

    Thanks hun. Great review. 

    #twinklytuesday

    • July 20, 2016 / 11:56 am

      Aww thanks! It’s definitely gone down a treat in this house! We only have the leapreader stuff and this has been far more popular than that! x

  24. Hannah (tuesdayschildblog)
    July 20, 2016 / 9:24 am

    Will have to remember this for when my baby is a bit older. She's only 4 months but already loves my phone and baby tv! X #twinklytuesday

    • July 20, 2016 / 11:56 am

      Haha definitely remember it! I wished I’d have discovered it ages ago to save on all those rubbish YouTube videos! x

  25. July 20, 2016 / 11:38 am

    hehe we just reviewed this too and my boy loves it. the interactive bits are so cool and b laughs out loud too at the silly bits. we too have had jingle bells on at silly o clock! he is obsessed with the xmas bit! #TwinklyTuesday

    • July 20, 2016 / 11:57 am

      Haha isn’t it funny how they are all obsessed with the Christmas section! I do love the interaction it gives- such a great app 🙂 x

  26. July 21, 2016 / 5:56 am

    Funnily enough I just posted on Monday about kids and technology and whether it is a good thing? I think theer are some amazing wasy to learn on devices now and life has changed, our kids are just so smart aren't they. #TwinklyTuesday 

    • July 21, 2016 / 5:41 pm

      They are! I’ll never forget Zach figuring something out on the sky remote and we had no clue how he was doing it!! x

  27. July 23, 2016 / 9:23 am

    We've just reviewed this app too – both of mine love it and it's saved the day many a time! #twinklytuesday 

    • July 26, 2016 / 7:37 am

      Haha its great isn’t it? I love that he’s not completely obsessed with it but that when he does play it, it keeps him occupied and happy! x

  28. July 25, 2016 / 1:16 pm

    Oh this looks brilliant. I was thinking about apps the other day and downloading some new ones for our holiday for the plane and similar. With monkey starting school in Sept this would be fantastic! Thanks for hosting #TwinklyTuesday xx

    • July 26, 2016 / 7:38 am

      It’s really good because it just has everything. Yes they can have some time just watching nursery rhymes but then they can do learning stuff too. So much better than a lot of apps out there!! xx

  29. July 26, 2016 / 4:56 am

    I confess that my two-year-old is very good at finding her way around the iPad and knows exactly how to get to the Peppa videos on YouTube :/ For that reason this app sounds like a much better alternative, I think she should definitely be doing more interactive things with technology, so I've entered the competition in the vague hope of winning something for once in my life!  Great that it's worldwide! #TwinklyTuesday

    • July 26, 2016 / 7:41 am

      Ooo fingers crossed. I was chuffed when I discovered this app for that very reason. It keeps them in one place and is far better than the YouTube videos!! Good luck! x

  30. Rachel Butterworth
    July 27, 2016 / 5:22 pm

    The have a tablet, which I monitor.

    • July 28, 2016 / 10:05 pm

      That’s great – monitoring is what is important- it just seems right that we allow them time with these things!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: